MP3s: The Strokes Covered by Peter Bjorn & John, Das Racist, Owen Pallett, The Morning Benders, and more

The Strokes‘ debut album Is This It was released on July 30th, 2001, almost ten years ago today. To celebrate the occasion, Stereogum asked some of their favorite indie artists to cover each track from the album. Check the tracklist for STROKED: A Tribute To Is This It:

01 Peter Bjorn and John: “Is This It”
02 Chelsea Wolfe: “The Modern Age”
03 Frankie Rose: “Soma”
04 Real Estate: “Barely Legal”
05 Wise Blood: “Someday”
06 Austra: “Alone, Together”
07 The Morning Benders: “Last Night”
08 Owen Pallett: “Hard to Explain”
09 Heems from Das Racist: “New York City Cops”
10 Deradoorian: “Trying Your Luck”
11 Computer Magic: “Take It or Leave It”

Wow that’s good stuff, Stereogum wins the internet today. Hop over there now to read about each band’s comment and to download the whole mixtape. Hit the jump to download some of our favorites:

[audio:|titles=01 Is This It]

Download: Peter Bjorn and John – Is This It

[audio:|titles=07 Last Night]

Download: The Morning Benders – Last Night

[audio:|titles=09 New York City Cops]

Download: Heems – New York City Cops

[audio:|titles=08 Hard To Explain]

Download: Owen Pallett – Hard to Explain